Encouragement

Designed to Win

Just recently I’ve been learning how to play chess on the computer. This is not the first time I’ve played chess, but it has been a while, so I consider myself a novice.  I know the names of the game pieces -the knights, the Queens, and the kings, and all the others. I’m familiar with some of the ways that the pieces can move, but I just can’t seem to win. I haven’t won a single game.

The computer program is designed in such a way that it beats me every time, partly because I do not know how to win. The game of chess is not a do or die situation, but I’d love to win a few games.

However, I am designed to win as a believer. The Bible declares that I’m more than a conqueror. Romans 8:37 says,  “in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.”

When life situations attempt to put me in  ‘Checkmate,’  I come out fighting. I  use all the weapons at my disposal- the name of Jesus, the blood of Jesus  and the word of God.  I refuse to allow the strategies of the opponent to take me out. I have the fruit of the spirit in my corner as well- love, peace and joy. And I have the shield of faith,  the breastplate of righteousness and the sword of the spirit on my side. 

I am designed by my creator to win.

And that’s the tea for this afternoon. 

Leave a Reply

