Encouragement

Hope and A Future 

Earlier this week I read a post about unanswered prayers. The post caused me to think about  times in my life when I have believed that my prayers have gone unanswered. 

Several years ago I experienced some serious marital problems. My husband and I had been separated for some time. We did not speak,  but we still attended the same church.  I sat on one side of the sanctuary  and he sat on the other side.  I prayed and I asked God to restore my marriage. I even asked others to pray for me. One individual said that she was coming in agreement that God would give my husband peace. 

I prayed that my family unit would be restored and that my husband would come back home.

He never came home.  We divorced in 2010. It’s been almost 7 years. Now, I realize that I wanted a loving husband  and a strong  family unit, but the person I married  in 1987 had become another individual.

I had grown and some of my family members shared that I had changed, and that my former husband had changed, but he had not grown.  Others felt I made a bad decision when I got married at such a young age, and I agree. 

At the time, I thought I was marrying a good man, but not every man is ready to be a husband nor a father. 

I was anxious to be a wife. It seemed like the next natural step after graduating from college. I had my own apartment. I had a new car and I was ready to be a mama.(I love babies!)

I really desired  to be in a loving relationship with an individual.  I’ve read or heard that you can’t force someone to love you. 

Now that so many years have passed, I’ve come to the realization that I enjoy having time to myself. This surprised me.  Finally, I am actually enjoying being single. I never thought those words would come out of my mouth. 

I am enjoying life. And, I love being a grandma. I believe I am living the life God has for me. 

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” 

         Jeremiah 29:11


Growing in His Grace Daily, 

Rena

Leave a Reply

