Encouragement

I Forgive You

Last week my grandson’s teacher sent home a newsletter from first grade. It  was a regular newsletter informing the parents of upcoming events.  It showed what the students will be learning for the next few weeks,  but the one thing that caught my attention was the section about character traits. 

The word that the students are focusing on for the month of March is forgiveness. 

The newsletter prompted me to write about forgiveness this week.

According to the newsletter, forgiveness is deciding that someone who has wronged you doesnt have to pay.

I love that definition. It is simple and something easily understood even by a first grader. I had not realized until now that I have been apologizing to my grandson if I felt a need to say I was sorry. He would say, ” It’s okay. I forgive you.” He has been working on that at school. 

Now it is my turn to say, “I forgive you. “

 Over the past few years, others have done or said things to negatively impact me. The list is long: former church members, family members, my ex husband, and my fomer in-laws.

Forgiving others is not easy. The pain goes deep, but Jesus’  sacrifice makes it possible. 

The people who wronged me don’t have to pay because Jesus paid for my sins and for their sins on Calvary over 2000 years ago.

I can’t make anyone pay for the hurt they have caused me, but there were times when I would think that the people who caused me pain would surely reap what they had sown.

That is not right thinking, but it is a natural instinct to want others to pay for causing us pain. That is not the way Christians should think.

Growing in His Grace Daily…

Rena

Leave a Reply

