Uncategorized

Why Am I Here?

Several years ago I listened to a speaker talk about  purpose. Everything has a purpose-a reason for existing. 

A knife cuts.

A car transports.

A microphone amplifies sound.

What is my purpose? 

Why am I here?

What should I be doing with my life? 

I think about my life’s purpose often.  I want to do something significant with my time here.

For most of my adult life, I worked with young people. I wanted to make a difference through my teaching.  I encouraged young minds to be excited about science. I tried to provide engaging learning experiences for my students. At times, I felt unappreciated and underpaid. No one goes into teaching for money. 

 That part of my life is over. 

It is time for me to make a difference in other ways. I have the awesome privilege of helping to parent my grandson.

Plus, I have an opportunity to use my writing to encourage others. I believe I am here to encourage others. 

I like making others laugh too. When I shop, I try to say something encouraging or comical to the cashier. Laughter is medicine for the soul. I am so thankful for the gift of laughter. It has helped me through some difficult times…divorce, financial problems, and health issues.

One thought on “Why Am I Here?

Leave a Reply

